Skip to main content

Why does SIBO return so quickly even with this diet?

//Why does SIBO return so quickly even with this diet?
Why does SIBO return so quickly even with this diet?2014-07-02T08:33:25+00:00

Fast Tract Diet for SIBO Forum Fast Tract Diet Q&A Why does SIBO return so quickly even with this diet?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi guys,
    I’ve been reading through the forums and I’ve noticed that a lot of people including Norm have said that even though they’ve been on the diet for a very long time if they go off the diet even for a little while SIBO symptoms return. If one were to be on the diet for a long time wouldn’t the bacteria in the small intestine that feed on carbohydrates die? How can the symptoms return so fast especially for someone like Norm who has been on the diet for so long?

danb1
    Participant

I’m no expert zad, but I’m starting to think that its down to motility. In that slow motility is a root cause/condition for SIBO (and other digestive problems, so I’ve read) as the bacteria are not pushed out of the small intestine effectively, thus causing overgrowth. I think the low FP approach helps this, but unless its addressed, the problem will return. I’d guess that applies to taking antibiotics as a solution also. My brother has also had digestive issues (not SIBO) different to me, but has discovered his problems are down to slow/poor motility, and I’m guessing mine are too. I’m starting to investigate other dietary ways of stimulating motility with a nutritionalist/herbalist and addressing stress/anxiety issues.

Chris
    Participant

Human cells make up about 10% of your body; the rest is bacteria, mostly in the gut. Getting completely rid of any kind of bad bacteria is unlikely. The numbers can go down until the symptoms are gone. However, if conditions become favorable again for the bad bacteria, they will multiply.

Norm Robillard
    Keymaster