Fast Tract Diet for SIBO Forum Fast Tract Diet Q&A Long-term questions

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi Norm – Thank you for your guidance. How long have you been following your diet? You mentioned that you still stay well below a daily FP of 40. Have you ever tried to increase that?

Do you eat any grain products besides the low FP rice (such as baguette)?

Do you have any issues with blood lipids or other vital health numbers?

Is it possible to live on just meat, cheese, eggs & veggies? Have any of your followers been able to add other foods back in?

Norm Robillard
    Keymaster

I have been controlling my reflux by diet for 10 years now. I used low carb for many years. They I used the Fast Tract Approach. Because I tend to gain weight on carbs, I am doing a hybrid of the two these days. Because my SIBO and reflux has been under good control for so long, I can eat whatever I want (which does happen around holidays) for about three days of so. At that point symptoms begin to return. For carbs I generally avoid most grains, with bread as an occasional treat. Since my girlfriend is Japanese, we do eat sticky rice relatively often. I also eat lots of veggies and a fair amount of fish, meats, butter, low FP fruits, fermented foods, berries and cheeses. And of course I eat most of the other low FP foods in the Fast Tract books. Lastly Paleo purists may not approve, but I love tofu dishes once in awhile, especially when traveling in Japan. And their fermented veggies over there are out of this world.

Forgot to mention, Tonight I had 3/4 cup regular ice cream. People with lactose intolerance or active SIBO should choose lactose-free ice cream.

My blood work is fine and I don’t take any drugs (at 57, knock on wood) with the exception of an occasional ibuprofen.