Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Question – if I want to deviate off the diet occasionally, would taking a specific enzyme just prior to eating help to prevent Gerd? For example – if I want to eat a DQ Blizzard, would taking lactase ahead of time help? Or if I want to eat a Chipotle burrito with black beans, would taking Bean-o ahead of time help?

Chris
    Participant

Lactase pills do help when I eat foods with lactose. The symptoms I notice most when I fail to use lactase are in the lower GI, but it may be helping to limit upper GI gas too.

I have no experience with Bean-o.

Jaeme
    Participant

Hi Ronnie- since my triggers are starches, I use enzymes such as amylase & cellulase, and they really do help. I use a product called Acid Ease by Enzymatic (do not confuse with antacid products by same name). Acid Ease does not have protease, which is hard on inflamed stomachs. I have tried Beano before eating hummus & a few pita chips, and had no issues. I have learned to try one thing at a time so I can pinpoint what works, what causes problems, etc. Norm did post on here favorably a few months ago about different enzymes and what foods they address.

It has taken 6 months, but with the FT diet, help from a nutritionist & some supplements, lots of kefir, and one mainstream medicine I am virtually LPR-free and adding back foods like pizza and chocolate (had my first two squares of pizza this week since January- heaven!)

Jaeme
    Participant

P.S.- once my stomach healed up, I was able to add a Betaine HCL product called Zypan by Standard Process, and have been adding foods back with good success.

Jaeme
    Participant